Apply to
Chinese Universities
What is HSK?

Degree programs taught in Chinese require students to have reached a certain level of Chinese language proficiency before they are admitted. This is to ensure that students are able to understand classes, complete assignments and sit exams. Most universities ask that applicants pass the Chinese Proficiency Test (HSK) to a certain level as a means of proving sufficient language proficiency. More information about the HSK is outlined below.

(The following information was provided by CUCAS's strategic partner organization - Center for Chinese Proficiency Test.)

China's Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi, known as HSK or the Chinese Proficiency Test is a standardized test at the state level designed and developed by the HSK Center of Beijing Language and Culture University to assess the Chinese proficiency of non-native speakers (foreigners, overseas Chinese and students of Chinese national minorities). HSK consists of the basic Chinese proficiency test (HSK Basic), the elementary and intermediate Chinese proficiency test (HSK Elementary-Intermediate) and the advanced Chinese proficiency test (HSK Advanced). HSK is held regularly in China and other countries each year. Certificates of HSK will be issued to those who have secured the required scores.

The Chinese Ministry of Education has established the China National Committee for Chinese Proficiency Test (HSK)(CNCCPT). The Committee is the supervisor of HSK and the issuer of the Chinese proficiency certificates. CNCCPT has an office called the Office of China National Committee for Chinese Proficiency Test (HSK), which takes care of the HSK affairs together with the HSK Center of BLCU.

1. About Applicants of HSK

HSK(Basic) applies to learners with basic Chinese proficiencies, namely, those who have taken 100 to 800 hours of regular modern Chinese learning (including those with the equivalent learning experiences). HSK (Elementary-Intermediate) is for those who are at the elementary and intermediate level in Chinese proficiency, i.e. those who have taken 400-2000 regular hours of modern Chinese courses (including those whose proficiency in Chinese is similar to that standard).

The HSK (Advanced) is designed to measure the Chinese proficiency of those who are proficient in Chinese, i.e. who have taken 3000 regular hours or more modern Chinese learning (including those whose proficiency in Chinese is similar to that standard).

2. The functions of HSK Certificates

  • to certify that the holder has acquired the required Chinese Proficiency to enter a college or university as an undergraduate or graduate student.
  • to certify that the holder can be exempt from taking the Chinese language course depending on the level of certification.
  • as a basis for employers to evaluate the Chinese proficiency of the job applicants.

3. HSK organizer and certificate issuer

CNCCPT is the organizer of HSK.  The CNCCPT Office and the HSK Center of BLCU are both in charge of HSK affairs.

>>See more about HSK

Online Consulting-

Leave a message and reply you soon!

Leave Message & Will Reply Soon